NCU logo
Northern Cricket Union
Charity Registration Number: NIC 106791

NCU Facebook Page
NCU Facebook Page
Waringstown make club history in Midweek League Final

Paddy Allen

Waringstown Cricket Club Midweek XI made history on Wednesday evening as they won the NCU Midweek League Final for the first time against Muckamore by 58 runs.

The final was held at Cregagh CC and the hosts put on a superb display for the final which has surely found a home for the Midweek League Final for years to come.

The winning margin of victory may have been a comfortable 58 runs but at the halfway stage Waringstown would have been disappointed to only make 106 for 7 from their 20 overs.

Opener Andrew Beattie was the only batsman to reach the retired mark of 30 and there were useful contributions from Joe Lyons (20 no), Peter Hanna (15) and Paddy Allen (14) to see the Villagers into three figures.

Muckamore’s bowling proved consistent on a slow pitch with J Gordon (4-25) and S Collins (2-37) putting the breaks on the Waringstown scoring in the middle overs.

At the break Waringstown knew that their score was maybe 15 to 20 runs below par but if they bowled and fielded well they would be in with a great chance.

This proved to be a winning formula as opening bowlers Adil Tahir (3-7) and Captain Alan Harrison (3-15) tore through the heart of the Muckamore top order leaving them 17 for 6 after only 6 overs.

This was down to good line and length bowling and some outstanding catching with Marc Woods taking a belter running back over his head at cover of Adil Tahir and Alan Harrison taking a fine return catch off his own bowling.

The final four wickets were grabbed up by Robyn McClimond (2-14) who bowled P Hayburn (22) the only Muckamore batman to make it into double figures and Paddy Allen (2-3) clean bowled the final two batmen to start the celebrations for the Waringstown CC Midweek XI.

This has capped off a fine season for Waringstown CC’s Midweek XI with silverware to show for the efforts that the players have put in for the midweek games.

After winning the league section with seven wins from eight and followed up with a 22 runs semi final win over Allstate and the comfortable final victory there was plenty of celebration when Captain Alan Harrison received the Midweek Trophy from NCU President Dr Murray Power.

Team: Alan Harrison (Capt), Andrew Beattie, Andrew Gardiner, Paddy Allen, Peter Hanna, Robyn McClimond, Marc Woods, Joe Lyons, Alan Hamilton, Adil Tahir, Jayaparakash Marayoor and Scorer Matthew Allen.

17 August
Waringstown 106-7 (A Beattie 30rtd, J Lyons 20no, P Hanna 15, P Allen 14, J Gordon 4-25, S Collins 2-37)
Muckamore 48 (14.3 overs, P Hayburn 22, A Tahir 3-7, A Harrison 3-15, P Allen 2-3, R McClimond 2-14)
Waringstown beat Muckamore by 58 runs

Waringstown Captain Alan Harrison receives the Midwwek League Cup from
NCU President Dr Murray Power

The Victorious Waringstown Midweek XI

Champagne Moment as Waringstown celebrate victory

Waringstown Midweek captain Alan Harrison with Midweek Cup

Waringstown players during the presentation