NCU logo
Northern Cricket Union
Charity Registration Number: NIC 106791

NCU Facebook Page
NCU Facebook Page
Northern Knights squad for RSA Inter-Provincial T20 Trophy announced

David Morton

The Northern Knights squad to take on the North West Warriors and Leinster Lightning on the 16th July in the RSA Inter-Provincial T20 Trophy at North Down Cricket Club has been announced.

Jamie Holmes from Lurgan CC makes his debut in the Northern Knights squad. Jamie, from New Zealand, is an all rounder who is eligible to play for Ireland.

The RSA Inter-Provincial T20 day at North Down CC sees the Northern Knights, sponsored by Horwood Neill Holmes, play both the North West Warriors and Leinster Lightning. An enjoyable day lies in wait for those cricketing fans that come along.

In the build up to the game, First Minister Peter Robinson and deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness, met some of the players and staff from both cricket unions. Pictured (left to right) are: (front row) Bobby Rao, North West Warriors Head Coach, deputy First Minister, Martin McGuinness, First Minister Peter Robinson and Eugene Moleon, Northern Knights Head Coach. (back row) Niall McDonnell, North West Warrioirs captain and Chris Harte, NCU President.

Speaking about the upcoming T20 day, Knights  Assistant Coach, Gavin Rogers, said: “I am sure all cricket fans will be treated to a fantastic day out at “the Green” on Tuesday, watching the best cricketers in Ireland, performing in a format which is innovative and exciting to both young and old.  We are determined as a Knights team to show how we can match superb talent with a very competitive approach to these two games and I expect both oppositions to face a difficult day. We really need our home support so please come along and help make this a great day.”

The Northern Cricket Union would encourage fans from across the Union to come along and support the Knights on Tuesday.

The 13 man squad selected for the RSA Inter-Provincial T20 Trophy matches is as follows:

  • Andrew White (Captain)
  • Philip Eaglestone
  • Peter Eakin
  • Jamie Holmes
  • Nigel Jones
  • Rory McCann
  • Eugene Moleon
  • Lee Nelson
  • James Shannon
  • David Simpson
  • Nikolai Smith
  • Jonny Terrett
  • Ben Wylie