NCU logo
Northern Cricket Union
Charity Registration Number: NIC 106791

NCU Facebook Page
NCU Facebook Page
Irish Senior and National Cup draws made

Cricket Ireland

Holders Waringstown have been handed a home tie against Bready in the first round of the 2016 Irish Senior Cup draw made in Dublin earlier today by Cricket Ireland President Dr Murray Power and Andy Clement - Chairman of the Cricket Committee. The Mid-Ulster side won the competition for the fourth time in their illustrious history with a 107 run triumph over Merrion this summer, and will again be one of the favourites for the premier cup competition in Irish cricket.

They will however be wary of a dangerous Bready side - runners-up in their only final appearance in 1995 - who did beat Lee Nelson's side in the 2014 O'Neills Ulster Cup final. Beaten finalists Merrion face a tricky away trip to NW league champions Coleraine, while Cork County will host 2006 winners Railway Union at The Mardyke.

1998 winners Strabane play host to 2002 victors Malahide, while also in the NW Drummond entertain Carrickfergus. Two times winners Brigade (1996 and 1999) take on NCU Challenge Cup winners CIYMS in a tie which will see former players Chris Dougherty, Johnny Thompson and Trevor Britton returning to Beechgrove.

Donemana - who tasted their sole success in 2000 have home advantage over Derriaghy. Instonians - beaten finalists in 2011 - face 2013 winners Clontarf at Shaw's Bridge, while North Down, who won the last of their three trophies back in 1995 meet YMCA at Comber. Finally in the NCU area, Muckamore are home to Eglinton.

In the ties being held in the Leinster region, two times winners The Hills (2012 and 2014) face last season's beaten semi-finalists CSNI, while Pembroke - who also bowed out at the penultimate hurdle this season - meet Lisburn at Sydney Parade. 2009 winners Leinster play Fox Lodge, while five times winners North County entertain Ardmore at Balrothery. In the final tie, 1986 champions Phoenix face Donegal side St Johnston - the first NW winners back in 1987.

In the draw for the National Cup, holders Rush entertain Downpatrick in the tie of the round.

The first round of both competitions will take place on Saturday 7th of May.

Irish Senior Cup Round One

Cork County v Railway Union
Strabane v Malahide
Coleraine v Merrion
Drummond v Carrickfergus
Brigade v CIYMS
Donemana v Derriaghy
Instonians v Clontarf
North Down v YMCA
Muckamore v Eglinton
Waringstown (holders) v Bready
The Hills v CSNI
Pembroke v Lisburn
Leinster v Fox Lodge
North County v Ardmore
Phoenix v St Johnston
Bye: Co Galway

Irish National Cup Round One

Cork Harlequins v Ballaghaderreen
Co. Sligo v Limerick
Glendermott v Lurgan
Burndennett v Woodvale
Ballyspallen v Greystones
Creevedonnell v Civil Service (LCU)
Cliftonville v Sion Mills
Academy v Newbuildings
Bangor v Dundrum (LCU)
Armagh v Terenure
Balbriggan v Killyclooney
North Kildare v Bonds Glen
Laois v Saintfield
Rush v Downpatrick
Byes: Co.Kerry, Midleton

The dates for each round will be as follows:

Round 1 – Saturday 7th May (replay date Sunday 22nd May)

Round 2 – Sunday 29th May (replay date Sunday 19th June)

Qtr-Finals – Sunday 10th July (replay date Sunday 17th July)

Semi-Finals – Saturday 13th August (replay date Sunday 21st August)

Irish Senior Cup Final – Saturday 27th August (replay date Sunday 11th September)

National Cup Final – Sunday 28th August (replay date Sunday 11th September)