NCU logo
Northern Cricket Union
Charity Registration Number: NIC 106791

NCU Facebook Page
NCU Facebook Page
Holders Waringstown Safely Through In Irish Senior Cup

Cricket Ireland

Holders Waringstown are safely through to the second round of the Irish Senior Cup after an emphatic eight wicket win against Bready in a rain-affected contest.

Three wickets for South African professional Cobus Pienaar, and two apiece for Kyle McCallan, Gary Kidd and James McCollum saw Bready dismissed for just 70. Craig Young - prevented from bowling due to a finger injury - top scored with 33, which included three sixes. James McCollum hit an unbeaten 28 as Waringstown eased into the last 16.

The closest game of the day was at Shaw's Bridge where Instonians knocked out 2013 winners Clontarf with a last ball boundary from Nathan Smith in another reduced overs contest.

Andrew Poynter's half century saw Clontarf make 135/9 in their rain interrupted 25 overs, which saw Instonians requiring a DLS adjusted target of 152. Nikolai Smith (56) and Andrew White (39) looked to have made the contest safe, but three quick wickets from Sameer Dutt (3-26) - including James Shannon first ball - gave the Castle Avenue side renewed hope.

With only two required from the final over by Joe Morrissey Instonians suffered a panic attack, with three wickets falling from the first three balls. Two dots followed before Smith scored the winning runs much to the relief of the Shaw's Bridge faithful.

There wasn't such good news for the other NCU sides. Four wickets from Yaqoob Ali (4-24) restricted three times winners North Down to 110 for 9, with Peter Eakin top scoring with 35 and Pieter Malan making 32.

DLS actually adjusted the YM target downwards to 108 which they reached without loss as Tom Fisher (50*) and Jack Tector (46*) ensured a routine win.

Muckamore lost by 72 runs despite an unbeaten 100 from their professional Avadhoot Dandekar. Eglinton opener Andy Millar's quick fire 72 and 65 from Irish international Stuart Thompson helped the NW side to 235 for 4 before rain ended their innings.

DLS adjusted the target to an imposing 272 in 38 overs, and despite Dandekar's resistance, Muckamore never seriously challenged it.

Pembroke were comfortable six winners at home to Lisburn thanks to a solid all-round display. Spinner Paul Lawson claimed 3 for 19 as Lisburn were dismissed for 167 - Steve Lazars top scoring with 79. Pembroke eased to the win with professional Daniel Solway top scoring with 46, and useful contributions from Lorcan Tucker (32*) and Theo Lawson (30*).

The Hills - winners in 2012 and 2014 - began their quest for a third title with a routine six wicket win at home to CSNI. The ever dependable veteran Nazeer Shaukat took 4 for 22 as the NCU were dismissed for 148. Mike Baumgart (68) and Hamid Shah (35) ensured a safe passage into the second round.

Fox Lodge pulled off the surprise result of the day with an excellent 55 run win at Rathmines against Leinster. Brian Allen's 94 (9 fours, 2 sixes) helped the Ballymagorry side knock out the 2009 winners by 55 runs.

Reinhardt Strydom was the second centurion of the day as he helped Phoenix demolish St Johnston. The ex Irish international bludgeoned 18 fours and two maximums to reach his hundred from just 48 balls as Phoenix passed their modest 140 target in just 12.4 overs. Earlier Cayman Island international Alessandro Morris took 4 for 22 as St Johnston lost their last five wickets for just one run to finish 139 all out.

Five times winners North County had little trouble beating Ardmore. The NW side were in deep trouble at 88 for 9, and it took an Irish Senior Cup record last stand of 71 between Stevie Dunn (42*) and Conor Brolly (16) to take them to a respectable 159 all out. Half centuries from Conor Armstrong and Tomas Sheil led the Balrothery side to the eight wicket win.

The five ties scheduled for the NW region all fell victim to the weather, as did the scheduled game in Cork between the hosts and Railway Union. All those games will be replayed on Sunday May 22.

Irish Senior Cup First Round Results
Irish National Cup First Round Results