NCU logo
Northern Cricket Union
Charity Registration Number: NIC 106791

NCU Facebook Page
NCU Facebook Page
Waringstown to play in the Irish Senior Cup Final

Richard White

The Irish Senior Cup Final takes place between Waringstown and The Hills, at Bready Cricket Club, on Saturday 2nd September (11:30 am Start). This competition is between the top club sides in Irish Cricket, and will feature Northern Cricket Union side Waringstown for the third season in succession. The Villagers were victorious in 2015 when they defeated Merrion by five wickets, to add to previous successes in 1983, 1992 and 2011. The same two teams contested the 2016 final, but fortunes were reversed as the Dublin side were victors by 56 runs.

Waringstown's Road to the Irish Senior Cup Final

Round 1: Waringstown received a bye

Round 2: Waringstown beat Coleraine (NWCU) by 8 wickets - Coleraine 167 for 7; Waringstown 173 for 2 (James Hall 91 not out, James McCollum 51)

Round 3: Waringstown beat Merrion (LCU) by 3 wickets - Merrion 195 for 9; Waringstown 199 for 7 (James McCollum 107 not out)

Semi-Final: Waringstown beat Pembroke (LCU) by 6 wickets - Pembroke 187 for 9; Waringstown 188 for 4 (Lee Nelson 84)

Waringstown's opponents on Saturday are The Hills Cricket Club from Skerries, County Dublin. The Hills won the Irish Senior cup in 2012 and 2014, and were runners up in 2007. In this years competition they defeated NCU side CSNI by 8 wickets in the first round, then Donemana (NWCU) by 6 wickets and Balbriggan (LCU) by 9 wickets in the following rounds, before a dramatic comeback in the semi-final against Instonians saw them reach the final with a 119 run victory. Their squad includes four players with Irish International experience: Sean Terry, Max Sorenson, Albert van der Merwe and Nazeer Shoukat.

The Waringstown Captain Greg Thompson speaking about the upcoming final said, 'We are excited to play in our third Irish Senior Cup final in three years. The players have been enjoying themselves and played really good cricket throughout the season. We have a good blend of experience and youth, and everybody is well aware of what their role is within the team. No doubt it will prove to be a great final between two of the top teams in Ireland'. 

Waringstown Squad

  • James Hall
  • Adam Dennison
  • James McCollum
  • Lee Nelson
  • Shaheen Khan
  • Greg Thompson (Captain)
  • Marcus McLean
  • Kyle McCallan
  • Gary Kidd
  • James Mitchell
  • Phil Eaglestone
  • 12th Man - David Dawson

Supporters from the participating clubs, and all other cricket followers from across the Irish Cricket Union and beyond will be warmly welcomed to Bready Cricket Club.