NCU logo
Northern Cricket Union
Charity Registration Number: NIC 106791

NCU Facebook Page
NCU Facebook Page
Gallagher Challenge Cup First Round Reports plus Man of the Match Photos

Richard White NCU PRO &
Wylie McKinty

In the first round of the Gallagher Challenge Cup there was an exciting finish between near neighbours Derriaghy and Lisburn. Batting first Lisburn's David Simpson scored a very classy 59 and Peter Ferguson 38 in in a 6th wicket partnership of 80 to rescue Lisburn from 50-5. Craig Lewis was the early destroyer for Derriaghy picking up 3 of the early wickets, finishing with 4-15, while the left arm spin of Curtis Moorhead finished the innings as he took 3 wickets for 21 to bowl out Lisburn for a disappointing 171 in the 47th over.

Reece Malone (46) and Ross Bailey (45) were the main contributors in Derriaghy's reply as they put on a second wicket partnership of 106 and were in total control of the run chase. There then followed a remarkable turnaround in the match as Mark Berry, bowling downhill in his second spell, picked up 4 quick wickets including Bailey and Malone.

Richard McConkey bowled well in tandem with Berry as he accounted for 3 more wickets and suddenly Derriaghy had lost 7 wickets for 19 runs and Lisburn were favourites. Curtis Moorhead and wicketkeeper Adam Jamison then steadied the ship and Jamison stroked 3 fours in a composed 18 to see the Derriaghy home by 2 wickets in the 44th over much to the delight of the home crowd and scorer!

The big cup upset of the weekend was Section 1 Holywood overturning Premier League opposition as Muckamore were defeated by 12 runs at Seapark Oval. Mark Adair starred with the bat for the County Down side, scoring 88 and received good support from Charles Beverland (33), Andrew Haire (37) and Mark Best (35) as they posted a challenging 252 for 9. Neil Gill with 3-48 and Aditya Adey with 2-43 were were the most successful bowlers. In reply half centuries from Sam Gordon and Jamie Magowan proved not enough for Muckamore as Adam Gardner (3-47) and Andrew Haire (3-72) picked up late wickets to bowl Muckamore out for 240 in the last over.

Jacob Mulder took five wickets as Cup holders CIYMS bowled Armagh out for 102 and progressed to the next round with a 7 wicket victory. Despite the loss of three early wickets Nigel Jones with 33 not out and Ryan Hunter undefeated on 43 saw the champions home with overs to spare.

CSNI defeated Carrickfergus by 5 wickets. Andre Malan with 3-15 and Ben Adair 4-25 restricted the Carrick batsmen with only the returning Jamie Holmes making it to 20 in Carrick's total of 140. In reply Marc Ellison scored 55 and captain James Kennedy 21no as CSNI crossed the winning line in the 31st over.

In another all Section 1 clash Downpatrick beat Bangor by 3 wickets. Bangor posted a respectable 235 for 8 with Chris Burns top scoring with 58. He received good support from Nicky McCollum (40), Andrew Nixon (39) and Ricky McLarnon (41no). Chris Gilmore was the most successful bowler for Downpatrick as he took 3 for 30 in his ten overs.

In reply a 97 run partnership between skipper Craig Boultwood (87no) and Christopher Martin (41) for the 6th wicket took Downpatrick close to the winning margin which they ultimately reached for the loss of 7 wickets in the 48th over despite 4 wickets from Taimur Khan.

There were two victories registered by over two hundred runs as first of all North Down beat Donacloney Mill by 215 runs. A man of the match winning hundred from Daniel Graham (108) combined with 42 from Alistair Shields and 49no from Ryan Haire saw the Comber side post a daunting 315 for 6.

The Donacloney Mill reply never got going and they were bundled out for 100 in the 37th over. Marty Moreland picked up three early wickets for 27 while Peter Eakin (4-18) and Andrew McCrory (2-9) wrapped up the innings to leave North Down winners by 215 runs.

Another man of the match performance this time from Waringstown's James Hall with 109 helped Waringstown through to the next round against Woodvale. The home team posted 326 for 6 with Adam Dennison contributing 75 to an opening partnership of 168 with Hall. James McCollum kept up the momentum with 76.

In reply Woodvale reached 53 for 1 at one stage before Gary Kidd with 4-12 and skipper Greg Thompson 3-6 induced a Woodvale collapse that ultimately saw them bowled out for 81 in the 39th over.

The Belfast derby was won by Instonians as they comfortably beat Cregagh by 9 wickets. Cregagh were bowled out for 119 in the 37th over with Adam McCormick top scoring with 36. Ben Rose and Andrew White took four wickets each. Nikolai Smith and Jordan McClurkin scored undefeated half centuries of 55 to see Instonians safely in to the second round draw.

Saturday Results
CIYMS beat Armagh by 7 wickets
CSNI beat Carrickfergus by 5 wickets
Derriaghy beat Lisburn by 2 wickets
Downpatrick beat Bangor by 3 wickets
Holywood beat Muckamore by 12 runs
Instonians beat Cregagh by 9 wickets
North Down beat Donacloney Mill by 215 runs
Waringstown beat Woodvale by 245 runs

NOTE: The draw for the 2nd Round of the Gallagher Challenge Cup will take place on Wednesday 30th May 2018 at 6.00pm in Malone Golf Club.