NCU logo
Northern Cricket Union
Charity Registration Number: NIC 106791

NCU Facebook Page
NCU Facebook Page
Ulster Bank Schools' Cup Final 2018 (Ferguson Grainger Cup)

Richard White (NCU PRO)

Belfast Derby Final

The 2018 Ulster Bank Schools' Cup Final (Ferguson Grainger Cup) will be played at Moylena, home of Muckamore Cricket Club on Friday, 15th June at (4pm). This is the 25th final to be sponsored by the Ulster Bank.

The 33rd final will be contested by Methodist College Belfast and Royal Belfast Academical Institution (RBAI). Methodist College will be playing in their first final (though they did appear in the very first final of the predecessor Schools' League in 1974). RBAI, the current holders, have appeared in fourteen finals, winning ten, and sharing one.

Methodist College Belfast, coached by current CSNI captain, and former Ballymena captain, James Kennedy, reached Fridays showpiece final by overcoming Grosvenor Grammar, Strabane Academy, and Belfast Royal Academy.

RBAI, coached by former Downpatrick, NICC and Instonians cricketer Jonathan Peak, defeated Bangor Grammar, Coleraine Grammar and Limavady Grammar, to set up the 'Belfast derby final'.

The trophy, the Ferguson Grainger Cup, was presented by Muckamore Cricket and Lawn Tennis Club in 1986, in memory of the former Club and NCU President.

Cup Final Squads:

Methodist College Belfast   Royal Belfast Academical Institution
  • L Lowry (captain)
  • R Dravid
  • J Holohan
  • D Humphreys
  • M Humphreys 
  • J Hunter
  • M Lyttle
  • T McCreight
  • A McMurray
  • T Millar
  • H Morrow
  • P Morrow
  • A Reid
  • J Metcalfe (joint captain)
  • B Rose (joint captain)
  • N Armstrong
  • H Ellerby
  • M Fleetham
  • D Keane
  • S McLarnon
  • B McNamara
  • O Metcalfe
  • D Mitchell
  • M Peak
  • E Scott
  • J Waite