NCU logo
Northern Cricket Union
Charity Registration Number: NIC 106791

NCU Facebook Page
NCU Facebook Page
NCU Robinson Services Leagues - Weekend League News (23rd June)

Richard White (NCU PRO) &
Wylie McKinty
Robinson Services

CIYMS moved ahead of Waringstown on run rate at the top of the Robinson Services Premier League after a 200 run win over Muckamore. Bangor and Lisburn both won at the weekend to remain tied on points at the top of Section 1. In Section 2 Cliftonville Academy continued their unbeaten start to the season with a comfortable 8 wicket win at Saintfield and are joined at the top by Monaghan.

Robinson Services Premier League
On Saturday CIYMS moved to the top of the Robinson Services Premier League, by virtue of a superior net run rate, when they defeated Muckamore by 200 runs. Half centuries from Jason van der Merwe and Ryan Hunter helped CIYMS post a formidable 283 for 9. Jacob Mulder and Alan Coulter took seven wickets between them to bowl Muckamore out for 83.

CSNI claimed their second league victory of the season with a 132 run defeat of Armagh. Captain James Kennedy scored 75 not out for the Belfast side in a total of 220 for 9, and Graeme McCarter took four wickets as Armagh were all out for 88. Shadley van Schalkwyk completed an all round weekend by taking five CSNI wickets.

Carrickfergus took the points against North Down as Neil Hornbuckle (99) and Michael Gilmour (76 not out) helped reach the victory target of 189. Ruhan Pretorious starred for the Comber side, scoring 97 runs, but Anthony Martin's four wickets had restricted North Down's total.

Saturday Results
Carrickfergus beat North Down by 6 wickets
CIYMS beat Muckamore by 200 runs
CSNI beat Armagh by 132 runs

Robinson Services Section 1
In Section 1 Bangor and Lisburn top the table with 5 wins each. Bangor were the visitors to Seapark on Saturday to take on then joint leaders Holywood. Batting first Bangor scored 229 for 7 with Andrew Nixon and Taimur Khan passing 50. Andrew Haire had the best bowling figures as he took 3 for 46. Despite 42 from the in-form Mark Adair the Holywood reply finished 57 runs short with James Patterson taking 4-27 in the Holywood innings.

Having lost 2 out of 3 games at the start of the season Lisburn have now won 4 in a row. At the weekend they disposed of bottom team Lurgan for 84, David Simpson picking up 5 for 22 and Mark Berry 2 for 22. Skipper Adam Berry with 26no and Peter Ferguson with 49no easily saw Lisburn past the target with only Oliver McCollum's 2-11 any comfort for the home team.

Downpatrick and Woodvale are just 1 win behind the league leaders as both recorded victories on Saturday. Downpatrick made short work of their game at home to Derriaghy as the visitors were dismissed for 95. Only Ross Bailey made any telling contribution as he top scored with 37, while 2 wickets from Mark Yeates and 3 each from Tye Pilon and Thomas Magowan did the damage. In reply Jordan Wade with a rapid 54 and Ryan Smyth with 24no easily saw the home team win with few alarms.

At Ballygomartin Road Donacloney Mill hit a competitive 257 for 6 in their 50 overs against Woodvale with Shane Warren top scoring with 79 and Bruce Topping finishing on 45 not out. For Woodvale Farhan Saeed took 2 wickets for 48. In reply Woodvale cruised home by 8 wickets as Sam Fleming with 32, Mark Irwin 100no and JJ Strydom 75no made light work of the Donacloney Mill total.

In the final game in section 1 on Saturday a last over thriller saw Laurelvale get passed the winning line off the last ball as they successfully chased down Cregagh's 194. The Cregagh total was mainly due to Aaron Johnston's 64 while Adam Speers claimed 4 wickets for 42. In reply Lee Edgar with 51 from 74 balls got the innings off to the perfect start and when he departed captain David Sinton kept up the momentum and saw his team home with 72 not out from 65 balls, the winning runs coming off the final ball as Mohammed Ajmal struck it for four.

Saturday Results
Bangor beat Holywood by 57 runs
Downpatrick beat Derriaghy by 8 wickets
Laurelvale beat Cregagh by 3 wickets
Lisburn beat Lurgan by 8 wickets
Woodvale beat Donacloney Mill by 8 wickets

Robinson Services Section 2
There was a full fixture list of 7 games in Section 2 on Saturday. Cliftonville Academy continued their winning form as they recorded their 5th win in 5 games. They dismissed Saintfield for 58 with Brian Anderson bowling his 10 overs straight through to take 3 for 25. He was ably backed up by Tom McCord (2-25) and Chris Halliday, who returned remarkable figures of 5 for 3 in 5.4 overs. Despite losing 2 early wickets with 23 on the board Cliftonville Academy passed the winning margin in the 10th over.

The highest score of the day belonged to Larne as they amassed 288 for 5 at Dundrum. Eddie Hunter carried his bat through the whole innings as he finished on 111 not out. He received good support from Chris Lough (32) and veteran wicket keeper Trevor Dempsey (30no). In reply despite 60 from Jack Woods Dundrum fell 128 runs short with Charlie Cloke picking up 5 for 38 and Michael Kennedy 2 for 24 with his gentle off breaks.

Bowling performance of the day (and possibly the season) came at Fullerton Park as John Glass picked up 8 wickets for 9 runs as Cooke Collegians were bowled out for 45 chasing 272 for victory. Earlier in the day Ballymena had amassed 271 for 6 with 5 batsmen all going passed 40. James McClean (64), Owen Dick (49), Michael Glass (48no), Stephen Colgan (45) and John Glass (44) all contributing to the huge total.

In the other games in this section Dunmurry scored 252 for 7 as they beat Donaghadee by 91 runs, Monaghan kept pace with Cliftonville Academy at the top of the table as they easily beat Ards by 9 wickets, Templepatrick had a comfortable 10 wicket win over Drumaness as Ross Bryans (3-11) and Callum Weir (5-28) dismissed Drumaness for 50 and then won by 10 wickets and Belfast SuperKings had a 5 wicket win over Victoria.

Saturday Results
Ballymena beat Cooke Collegians by 226 runs
Belfast SuperKings beat Victoria by 5 wickets
Cliftonville Academy beat Saintfield by 8 wickets
Dunmurry beat Donaghadee by 91 runs
Larne beat Dundrum by 128 runs
Monaghan beat Ards by 9 wickets
Templepatrick beat Drumaness by 10 wickets