NCU logo
Northern Cricket Union
Charity Registration Number: NIC 106791

NCU Facebook Page
NCU Facebook Page
NCU Robinson Services Leagues - Weekend League Roundup (14th July)

Richard White (NCU PRO) &
Wylie McKinty
Robinson Services

Robinson Services Premier League
CIYMS remain top of the Robinson Services Premier League, on run rate, courtesy of a 7 wicket victory against Carrickfergus.

Chris Dougherty (94) and Nigel Jones (86 not out) saw CIYMS past the Carrickfergus total of 222. Pat Botha had scored 68 in that total, while Alan Coulter with 4 wickets and James Cameron Dow 3 wickets, were the pick of the CIYMS bowlers.

Waringstown defeated near neighbours Armagh by 6 wickets, with Lee Nelson (54), James Hall (61), and Greg Thompson (51 not out) the main run scorers in a winning total of 236 for 4. Earlier Jamie Rogers with 76 helped Armagh to a competitive total of 235 for 9.

The performance of the day was at The Green as North Down registered a massive 352 for 2 courtesy of centuries from Ruhan Pretorious (124) and Daniel Graham (126 not out), with a cameo of 75 from 35 balls from Alistair Shields. Instonians were bowled out for 197, with only Jordan McClurkin passing 50, Ryan Haire being the chief wicket taker with 3 for 10.

Muckamore took the points against CSNI, with a 6 wicket victory. Morgan Topping (56), and Chris McMorran (65) scored half centuries as CSNI were bowled out for 217, as Pavan Karthik took four wickets. Aditya Adey (67), Adam McDaid (61), and Fahad Iqbal (50 not out), ensured the Muckamore victory with just over 3 overs to spare.

Saturday Results

  • CIYMS beat Carrickfergus by 7 wickets
  • Muckamore beat CSNI by 6 wickets
  • North Down beat Instonians by 155 runs
  • Waringstown beat Armagh by 6 wickets

Robinson Services League Section 1
In Section 1 Mark Adair provided the bowling performance of the weekend as he picked up the first 7 wickets to fall in Derriaghy's innings as the home team chased 291 to win. A run out for the 8th wicket denied him the chance of all 10 wickets but Holywood ran out comfortable winners by 154 runs. Earlier Holywood had been bowled out for 290 after winning the toss and choosing to bat with Paddy Beverland scoring 45 and Adair 64, Mark Stinson with 3 wickets the pick of the Derriaghy bowlers.

Lisburn stretched their unbeaten league run to 7 games but it took a nervy 2 wicket win over Cregagh to keep it intact. Cregagh had been bowled out for 181 thanks to 43 from Aaron Johnson, with Richard Simpson taking 3 for 36 for Lisburn. In reply it was a familiar tale for Lisburn as they were reduced to 99 for 6 in reply and it took 24 from Michael Glass and 37no from Callum Atkinson to see Lisburn over the line and maintain their 4 point lead in Section 1.

At Upritchard Park Bangor defeated Donacloney Mill by 5 runs in a high scoring game. Batting first Bangor scored 242 for 9 thanks to 76 from Taimur Khan. Luke Allison (3-57) and Stephen Hanna (3-24) were the main wicket takers for Donacloney Mill. In reply the visitors were well in the game at 172-3 with Matthew Lyttle scoring 55, David Dawson 61 and Phil Derby 51no but as the scoring rate required increased so did the fall of wickets as Andrew Nixon picked up 3 wickets to add to his earlier one and finished with 4 for 35. Donacloney Mill finished 5 runs short as Bangor ran out winners.

Downpatrick suffered a set back as they were beaten by Woodvale at Ballygomartin Road. Batting first they were bowled out for a below par 126. Ryan Smyth (32) and Craig Boultwood (41) the only contributors. Sam Fleming was the pick of the bowlers with 3 for 19. In reply Woodvale's early batsmen struggled to 39 for 4 and it took a 5th wicket partnership of 55 between JJ Strydom and Farhan Saeed to steady things. When both were dismissed Paul Robinson (29no) and Jamie Gibson (23no) saw Woodvale home in the 37th over.

Lurgan managed to secure their first win of the season after losing their previous 9 league games. Batting first Lurgan amassed 280 for 9 in their 50 overs thanks to 82 from Stephen Johnson and 81 from professional Rohit Karanjkar. Simon Hughes took 4 for 61 in the huge total. In reply Laurelvale, missing their captain David Sinton, struggled to keep up with the required run rate despite 41 from Phil Weir, 33 from Jack McClelland and 33 from Craig Irwin. Derek Heasley with 3 for 47 was the leading wicket taker and was supported by Ollie McCollum (2-27), Rohit Karanjkar (2-42) and Peter Maxwell 2-45)

Saturday Results

  • Bangor beat Donacloney Mill by 5 runs
  • Holywood beat Derriaghy by 154 runs
  • Lisburn beat Cregagh by 2 wickets
  • Lurgan beat Laurelvale by 73 runs
  • Woodvale beat Downpatrick by 5 wicket

Robinson Services League Section 2
In Section 2 Templepatrick and Cliftonville Academy maintained their unbeaten records at the top of the table.

Templepatrick recorded a comfortable 8 wicket win over Cooke Collegians. Cooke Collegians were bowled out for 90 with Ross Bryans taking 3 for 28 and John Busby 3 for 9. Only Hamza Hussain with 40 showed any resistance. In reply Ricky Greer (34no) and Ross Bryans 21no) saw Templepatrick home.

Cliftonville Academy bowled Ballymena out for 190 despite another 5o from John Glass (69). Chris Halliday 3 for 36 and Johnny Terrett 5 for 37 taking the main wickets. In reply 72 from opener Matthew Palmer and 65 from Adam Kelso saw Cliftonville Academy maintain their unbeaten record.

In the other games in Section 2 there were wins for BISC, Donaghadee, Dunmurry, Saintfield and Victoria (who had a 1 wicket win over Larne at Lurgan Park).

Saturday Results

  • BISC beat Monaghan by 9 wickets
  • Cliftonville Academy beat Ballymena by 6 wickets
  • Donaghadee beat Ards by 164 runs
  • Dunmurry beat Dundrum by 62 runs
  • Saintfield beat Belfast SuperKings by 2 wickets
  • Templepatrick beat Cooke Collegians by 8 wickets
  • Victoria beat Larne by 1 wicket