NCU logo
Northern Cricket Union
Charity Registration Number: NIC 106791

NCU Facebook Page
NCU Facebook Page
NCU Representation in Ireland Under-17s Boys Winter Training Squad

Cricket Ireland  

Cricket Ireland has announced the national Under-17s Boys winter training squad and it contains 7 Northern Cricket Union players.

Nigel Jones, Ireland Under-17s Head Coach, said, "The coaching group and Irish youth selectors believe that we have selected an exciting group of players who will benefit greatly from an intensive winter programme. The squad's profile sees no fewer than seven players returning from the 2018 programme and their experience will be crucial in driving team culture and standards as we approach yet another big year for Irish cricket. We see the Under-19 Cricket World Cup qualifiers in 2019 as a key focus for this training group, and indeed for others who may have missed out on winter squad selection. For players and coaches alike, the hard work starts now, and opportunities are there to be earned or learned from. I'd like to take this opportunity on behalf of the Ireland Under-17s coaching group to congratulate those who have been selected and to wish them well with the winter programme ahead."

In 2018 the Ireland Under-17s squad clinched the Celtic Cup with a series win over Scotland Under-17s in August, and as preparation for that series also completed a successful tour of Worcester where they won two T20s, a 50-over game and drew a competitive two-day game. Aided by performances at this level, a number of this year's squad - notably leg spinner JJ Garth and wicket keeper/batsman Neil Rock - were recently announced as new members of the Senior Squad at the Shapoorji Pallonji Cricket Ireland Academy, while players such as Oliver Metcalfe, Mitchell Thompson and Gavin Hoey, have been named in the Academy's Emerging Squad.

Fixtures for next season are currently being finalised and will be released in early 2019.

The Training Squad

Name Provincial Union Club
Luke Allison Northern Cricket Union Donaghcloney-Mill
Ben Brownlee Leinster Cricket Union YMCA
Samuel Johannes de Klerk Leinster Cricket Union YMCA
Cian Egerton Munster Cricket Union Waterford District
Michael Glass Northern Cricket Union Lisburn
Gavin Hoey Leinster Cricket Union Pembroke
Matthew Humphreys Northern Cricket Union Instonians
James Hunter Northern Cricket Union Instonians
Archie Johnston Northern Cricket Union CSNI
Seamus Lynch Leinster Cricket Union Terenure
Kyle Magee North West Cricket Union Brigade
Reece Malone Northern Cricket Union Derriaghy
Cillian McDonnell Leinster Cricket Union YMCA
Nathan McGuire Leinster Cricket Union Rush
Oliver Metcalfe Northern Cricket Union Instonians
Ben Mills North West Cricket Union Glendermott
Scott Ruttle Leinster Cricket Union YMCA
Alex Stiles Leinster Cricket Union Railway Union
Tim Tector Leinster Cricket Union YMCA
Mitchell Thompson Leinster Cricket Union YMCA