NCU logo
Northern Cricket Union
Charity Registration Number: NIC 106791

NCU Facebook Page
NCU Facebook Page
Five NCU players in the Cricket Ireland Under-19's Boys winter training squad

Cricket Ireland / Richard White (NCU PRO)  

Cricket Ireland has announced the national Under-19's Boys winter training squad, with five Northern Cricket Union players included, and Northern Knights player, Neil Rock.

Ryan Eagleson, Head Coach of the Under-19's squad, said, "With the Under-19 World Cup Qualifiers taking place in 2019 the selectors recently met to select the winter training squad. Two standout performers from the last Under-19 World Cup in New Zealand - Jonathan James Garth and Neil Rock - will look to play a major role in guiding this year's team to another World Cup appearance."

"Last year's Ireland Under-17's team had a successful summer programme and players from this squad will hope to repeat that when they make the step up to Under-19 level. Tim Tector, younger brother of Jack and Harry, will be the youngest member of the squad, but deserves his place after a standout season at Under-15's level this year."

"Playing in the Under-19's World Cup is the pinnacle for many young cricketers and this squad will be looking to qualify for the tournament and test themselves against the best in the world at this age group."

In 2018 the Ireland Under-19's squad had a challenging, but ultimately positive World Cup campaign. The squad was led by Harry Tector (recently named Captain of the Ireland Wolves) and won three of their six competitive matches - the undoubted highlight being a thrilling four-run win over an Afghanistan Under-19's side that featured Mujeeb Ur Rehman. At the time of the campaign, Eagleson had noted, "They handled everything that was thrown at them and came away with an understanding of cricket at the top level and areas of their own game they needed to develop". 

Fixtures for next season are currently being finalised and will be released in early 2019.

The training squad

Max Burton Northern Cricket Union Carrickfergus
JJ Garth Leinster Cricket Union Pembroke
Gavin Hoey Leinster Cricket Union Pembroke
James Hunter Northern Cricket Union Instonians
Archie Johnston Northern Cricket Union CSNI
Kyle Magee North West Cricket Union Brigade
Reece Malone Northern Cricket Union Derriaghy
Cillian McDonnell Leinster Cricket Union YMCA
Gregory McFaul North West Cricket Union Bready
Oliver Metcalfe Northern Cricket Union Instonians
Alex Neary Leinster Cricket Union Rush
Cian Nulty Leinster Cricket Union The Hills
Marcus Poskitt North West Cricket Union Coleraine
Neil Rock Leinster Cricket Union Rush
Alex Stiles Leinster Cricket Union Railway Union
Tim Tector Leinster Cricket Union YMCA
Mitchell Thompson Leinster Cricket Union YMCA