NCU logo
Northern Cricket Union
Charity Registration Number: NIC 106791

NCU Facebook Page
NCU Facebook Page
Instonians duo Hunter and Metcalfe named in Ireland Under 19 squad

Richard White

Cricket Ireland has announced their Under-19s squad that will travel to Worcestershire next week, prior to competing in the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup Qualifier in Netherlands in late July.

Included are Instonians pair, James Hunter and Oliver Metcalfe, along with Northern Knights player Neil Rock, who will captain the Under 19's.

Ryan Eagleson, Head Coach of the Ireland Under-19s, said:

"July is a huge month for the Ireland Under-19s squad with the World Cup Qualifier taking place in the Netherlands. It will be a challenging month but one I know the players are very much looking forward to.

We've picked an exciting squad that includes players who have experience playing with the Ireland Wolves and at Inter-Provincial level. The squad will be led by Rush and Northern Knights wicketkeeper-batsman Neil Rock, with Jonathan Garth his vice-captain – both players providing important experience having been part of the last Under-19s Cricket World Cup in New Zealand in 2018.

We can't look too far ahead though. Before we get to the Qualifier we have three matches against Worcestershire, a training camp and a warm-up match against the Emerging Knights – so it will be a busy month ahead but a great challenge for the lads."

The squad's schedule

  • 2 July: Ireland Under-19s v Worcestershire (50-over match, Worcestershire)
  • 3 July: Ireland Under-19s v Worcestershire (50-over match, Worcestershire)
  • 4 July: Ireland Under-19s v Worcestershire (50-over match, Worcestershire)
  • 9 to 12 July: Ireland Under-19s World Cup Qualifier Prep Camp
  • 23 July: Ireland Under-19s v Emerging Knights (Friendly, venue TBC)
  • 24 July to 2 August: Under-19s World Cup Qualifiers (Netherlands)

 The Under-19s Men's squad

  • Neil Rock (c) (Rush)
  • JJ Garth (vc) (Pembroke)
  • Jamie Forbes (YMCA)
  • Gavin Hoey (Pembroke)
  • James Hunter (Instonians)
  • Kyle Magee (Brigade)
  • Gregory McFaul (Bready)
  • Nathan McGuire (Rush)
  • Oliver Metcalfe (Instonians)
  • Marcus Poskitt (Bready)
  • Will Smale (King's College Taunton and Croesyceiliog)
  • Alex Stiles (Railway Union)
  • Tim Tector (YMCA)
  • Mitchell Thompson (YMCA)