NCU logo
Northern Cricket Union
Charity Registration Number: NIC 106791

NCU Facebook Page
NCU Facebook Page
LVS T20 Cup Round 5 Match Round-up


Carrickfergus, CIYMS, CSNI and Lisburn are all through to the semi-finals of the Lagan Valley Steels T20 Cup after a dramatic day of cricket on Saturday.

CIYMS scraped through on net run rate despite a 35-run defeat against Waringstown at The Lawn.  South African Andre Malan was the star of the show for the Villagers as he scored 82 off 45 balls to help Waringstown post 172-5 in their 20 overs. He had support from James McCollum who followed up his excellent half-century on Friday night with 40 off 25 balls.

The CIYMS bowlers toiled, and it was James Cameron-Dow who returned the best figures – finishing with 2-39 off his four overs.

In the chase, Chris Dougherty hit 43 and John Matchett struck 36. Nigel Jones batted nicely for 28, but Graham Hume (4-17) and Kyle McCallan (3-14) helped the hosts restrict CIYMS to 137-9 in 20 overs.

In a winner-takes-all tie at between Lisburn and North Down, it was the hosts that prevailed – reaching the semi-finals after a three wicket-win.North Down batted first and only managed 102-9 in their 20 overs. Skipper Alistair Shields top-scored with 52 and the next highest score were extras (14). David Simpson (2-11), Callum Atkinson (2-15), Josh Manley (2-21) Matthew Humphreys (2-23) all claimed a couple of wickets each.

In reply, Lisburn chased down the required 103 runs in the final over – Christopher Burns top-scoring with 24. Simpson struck an unbeaten 22; meanwhile, there were two wickets each for North Down's Tom Mayes (2-17), Ryan Haire (2-17) and Carl Robinson (2-26).

Despite finishing second in the group phase of the competition, Carrickfergus lost to Instonians by eight runs at Middle Road. Shane Getkate struck 94 off 41 balls in an innings that included three fours and nine sixes. James Hunter hit 47 off 39 balls and helped Instonians post 198-5 in 20 overs.

In reply, Neil Rock hit 96 off 52 balls for Carrickfergus; there were starts Jacques Snyman (27), CJ van der Walt (24) and Jeremy Lawlor (16). Getkate took 3-22 for Instonians.

At Ballygomartin Road, Woodvale finished the competition without registering a single victory. They suffered a nine-wicket defeat at the hands of CSNI. Harry Warke top-scored for Woodvale with an unbeaten 78 off 49 and there were starts for Ruhan Pretorius (29) and Wayne Horwood (25 not out) as the hosts posted 143-5 in 20 overs.

CSNI chased their target down with 16 balls to spare. Ross Adair starred with an unbeaten 87 off 51 balls. Stuart Thompson (26 not out) and Luke Georgeson (24) made starts.

The semi-finals take place on Saturday with Carrickfergus taking on Lisburn and CSNI facing CIYMS. The final will be held on Sunday at Waringstown. 

Lagan Valley Steels Twenty20 Cup